Neo-Calvinism at New College: Scholars Win Funding Awards

A group of New College scholars have received awards from the Abraham Kuyper Leadership Fund for their work on neo-Calvinist theology.

Dr James Eglinton, Meldrum Senior Lecturer in Reformed Theology, has been awarded $15,000 to develop Grace in Common, a podcast on neo-Calvinism that he co-hosts with former New College students Dr Gray Sutanto (Reformed Theological Seminary) and Dr Cory Brock (St Columba’s Free Church), and Dr Marinus de Jong (Theologische Universiteit Kampen/Utrecht). Now in its second season, Grace in Common has been streamed over 40,000 times. “Our plan,” says Dr Eglinton, “is to develop live Grace in Common events over the coming year."

Three New College PhD students, Sebastian Bjernegård, Robb Torseth, and David Meinberg, have each received an award of $5,000 towards their doctoral projects on the neo-Calvinist theologian Herman Bavinck.

New College is an important global centre for scholarship on neo-Calvinism. We are grateful to the Abraham Kuyper Leadership Fund, administered by the Barnabas Foundation, for their support of emerging scholars of that tradition, and for enabling the dissemination of our research to a larger public audience.

Dr James Eglinton